RESRAD Training

RESRAD-ONSITE, RESRAD-OFFSITE and RESRAD-BUILD

September 20 - October 1, 2021 – Virtual, 8:00 AM to 12:00 Noon CDT (13:00 to 17:00 UTC) each weekday

Registration: $1700

This training workshop provides technical personnel and managers with an overview, history, calculation methodology, input parameter requirements, and application of the RESRAD Family of Codes, including RESRAD-ONSITE, RESRAD-OFFSITE and RESRAD-BUILD analysis. Both deterministic and probabilistic dose analysis techniques and special features such as sensitivity analysis as well as code verification and validation will be discussed. Interactive computer demonstrations guide the participants through data input and output steps. Instructor support helps the students complete the hands-on problem solving sessions throughout the workshop. Training materials include presentation handouts, user's manual, benchmarking report, and problem workbook. All participants after successful completion of the training course will receive training certificates from Argonne.

Register Agenda Registration deadline is September 13, 2021.

Advanced RESRAD-ONSITE & RESRAD-OFFSITE, RESRAD-BIOTA, and RESRAD-RDD

October 4 - 15, 2021 – Virtual, 8:00 AM to 12:00 Noon CDT (13:00 to 17:00 UTC) each weekday

Registration: $1700

The first half of the workshop explores advanced topics and applications of the RESRAD-ONSITE and RESRAD-OFFSITE codes. (It is highly recommended that attendees take the regular RESRAD-ONSITE and RESRAD-OFFSITE training course before taking this advanced course.) The second half covers two RESRAD family of codes. The first one, RESRAD-BIOTA, is dealing with evaluation of radiological dose to animals and plants. The second one is the RESRAD-RDD code, which is designed for emergency response to nuclear incidents. Interactive computer demonstrations guide the participants through data input and result analysis. Instructor support helps the students complete the hands-on problem-solving sessions throughout the workshop. Training materials include presentation handouts, user's manual, benchmarking report, and problem workbook. All participants after successful completion of the training course will receive training certificates from Argonne.

Register Agenda Registration deadline is September 27, 2021.

RESRAD Virtual Training Daily Schedule for Various Cities

Cities Begin End
Los Angeles, Phoenix, Vancouver 6 AM 10 AM
Albuquerque, Denver 7 AM 11 AM
Chicago, Mexico City 8 AM 12 Noon
New York, Toronto 9 AM 1 PM
São Paulo 10 AM 2 PM
London 2 PM 6 PM
Berlin, Cairo, Johannesburg, Madrid,
Paris, Rome, Warsaw
3 PM 7 PM
Baghdad, Kyiv, Istanbul, Moscow, Riyadh 4 PM 8 PM
Dubai 5 PM 9 PM
Shanghai, Taipei 9 PM 1 AM
Seoul, Tokyo 10 PM 2 AM
Sydney (for September 20-October 1) 11 PM 3 AM
Sydney (for October 4-15) 12 Midnight 4 AM

Discount for Combined Registration

A $200 discount for a single-participant combined registration for both training courses is available before August 31, 2021. When registering, select both training courses, and enter the discount code BothTC on the Order Summary page.

Cancellation Policy

There is a $150 cancellation fee per workshop cancelled. No substitution due to security policy, and no refunds after August 31, 2021. Workshops are subject to cancellation either due to security reason or lack of sufficient attendees. (Note that RESRAD workshops have never been cancelled in the past). However, if a workshop is cancelled by us, the full registration fee will be refunded. To cancel a registration, please email [email protected] or call (630) 252-3102.


For Workshop Attendees

 Policies

It is Argonne policy that payment needs to be received before the workshop starts. Additionally, international attendees will not have access granted until an ANL-593 form is completed and approved.

 Location

Virtual

RESRAD workshop participants have come from five continents (June 2012). (Map Source: Nations Online Project)

Sponsoring a Workshop

Course Description: This five-day training workshop provides technical personnel and managers with an overview, history, calculation methodology, input parameter requirements, and application of the RESRAD-ONSITE, RESRAD-OFFSITE, and RESRAD-BUILD codes. RESRAD-OFFSITE code is an extension of the RESRAD-ONSITE code. The Gaussian plume air dispersion and groundwater radionuclide transport model will be presented as well as the off-site accumulation of radionuclides in soils and surface water body. RESRAD-BUILD evaluates indoor building contamination. Both deterministic and probabilistic dose analysis techniques and special features such as sensitivity analysis as well as code verification and validation will be discussed. Interactive computer demonstrations guide the participants through data input and output steps. Instructor support helps the students complete the hands-on problem solving sessions throughout the workshop. Training materials include presentation handouts, user's manual, benchmarking report, and problem workbook. All participants after successful completion of the training course will receive RESRAD-ONSITE, RESRAD-OFFSITE, and RESRAD-BUILD Training Certificates from Argonne.

Sponsoring a workshop requires 10-12 IBM-PC compatible computers and a meeting space. Workshops can be taught to groups of 10 to 25 participants, preferably two per computer. For information about sponsoring a workshop, please contact Charley Yu at 630-252-5589 or send email to [email protected]

Continuing Education Credits

The Continuing Education Panel of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) has granted the following Continuing Education Credits (CECs) for the RESRAD Workshops for calendar years 2021-2024.

IDTitleCEC
2021-04-21-28RESRAD-OFFSITE16
2021-04-21-29RESRAD-ONSITE16
2021-04-21-27RESRAD-RDD/IND12
2021-04-21-26Advanced RESRAD-OFFSITE and RESRAD-ONSITE16
2021-04-21-25RESRAD-BUILD8
2021-04-21-24RESRAD-BIOTA12

Credit for previous years' workshops requires a written request to American Academy of Health Physics, referencing the appropriate course number. The AAHP address is 191 Clarksville Road, Princeton Junction, NJ 08550, United States. Phone: (888) 282-3446; Fax: (609) 799-7032.